A detoxification facility (whether it is at a rehabilitation facility or not) provides a safe environment for the patient. A Vermont alcohol detoxification facility has the staff necessary to support the person through their withdrawal. Detoxification (or medical detox) is not always needed when a person quits drinking but is recommended when a person has more serious withdrawal symptoms. For example, if the recovering alcoholic sweats and vomits a lot, they can become dehydrated, which can bring about other very unpleasant symptoms. Professionals would be able to make sure the patient has enough fluids. They can also sometimes administer Naltrexone (brand name Vivitrol) to help curb alcohol intake. Detoxification is just the first step. Once complete, the person should attend a comprehensive alcohol rehabilitation program to get to the core issues linked to their addiction.
An alcohol rehab center should help a person stop drinking and cope with life's challenges without needing to turn to alcohol. Vermont alcohol treatment facilities will offer various services to help recovering alcoholics like legal services, vocational services, etc. Most of the alcohol rehabilitation treatments have behavioral therapies as their core treatment. This can help a person adjust their behavior and attitude related to their drinking. Rehab centers need to assess the patient at the beginning of treatment to ensure their needs are met. Depending on what the person is going through, they might need specific services to ensure their treatment's success. You can speak to one of our referral specialists to help you find the Vermont alcohol rehabilitation center that will suit your needs or those of your loved one.
Vermont Short-Term vs. Long-Term Alcohol Treatment
It is sometimes hard to know what treatment length to choose when looking through the alcohol treatment centers available in Vermont. Depending on how bad the person's addiction is, the right duration of treatment will vary. Both types of rehab treatments will offer various services, such as 12-step therapy, individual and group sessions, counseling, etc. No matter the treatment one receives, how long they undergo this treatment can make a difference in their long-term success. When a person has a severe alcohol use disorder, more prolonged treatment can allow them to handle all the issues related to their addiction. A Vermont short-term alcohol treatment facility can be the right option if the person's addiction issues are less intense or haven't been present for a long time. The decision regarding the length of treatment is important and should not be overlooked.
Vermont Alcohol Laws
This section is for informational purposes only. The laws in Vermont can change over time. If you have legal questions or concerns, make sure to speak to a legal professional.
The legal drinking age in Vermont is 21 years old. It is illegal for someone under this age to possess or consume alcohol. A violation can carry a fine of up to $600. However, a minor can have alcohol for educational purposes, where a person can taste, but not consume, alcohol for their education (for example, in a culinary course). Furthermore, law enforcement in Vermont cannot arrest someone on an alcohol charge if they requested emergency medical assistance (for themselves or someone else) due to underage drinking.
Vermont Drunk Driving Laws
The law prohibits people (21 or older) from driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more in Vermont. If someone is under the age of 21, the BAC limit is 0.02%. It is also illegal for someone to drive a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or more. Vermont uses the term operating under the influence (OUI) instead of DUI.
Here is an overview of the penalties for DUI offenses in Vermont. There can, however, be mitigating or aggravating factors that can influence the punishments linked to each violation. If you or someone you know are facing DUI charges, seek the help of a legal professional.
When a person younger than 21 years old gets a DUI conviction in Vermont, their driver's license will be suspended for six months, and a second offense will lead to a suspension of one year or until they turn 21, whichever comes first. There can also be other penalties given.
Here is a picture of the DUI penalties for people over 21.
|DWI Offenses||Jail Time||Fine||License Suspension|
|1st offense||Up to 2 years||Up to $750||90 days|
|2nd offense||60 hours to 2 years||Up to $1,500||18 months|
|3rd offense||96 hours to 5 years||Up to $2,500||Revoked permanently|
Vermont Alcohol Abuse and Addiction Statistics
Vermont's alcohol consumption was 3.08 gallons of alcohol per capita in 2020. This number is much higher than the US average of 2.52 gallons per capita. Underage drinking is a problem in the state. A three-year average (2008 to 2010) showed that over 37% of Vermont's underage population drank alcohol.
According to the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, 68.4% of the population consumes alcohol, Chittenden County has the highest rate with 71.5%. Heavy drinking is a problem, with around 11.9% of the population engaging in this type of drinking, which is higher than the national average of 8.2%. There is also 21.5% that engage in binge drinking; meanwhile, the national average is 18%.
In 2018, of all road fatalities, 22.1% of them were attributed to impaired driving, and 69.2% of impaired drivers had a BAC of 0.15% or more. There was a total of 2,576 DUI arrests that year. The silver lining is that between 2009 and 2018, there was a drop of 37% in impaired-driving fatalities.
List of Alcohol Detox Programs in Vermont
Here is a list of detox centers for Alcohol addiction in Vermont. The list can be incomplete so if you cannot find what you are looking for, please do not hesitate to contact one of our treatment specialists at 1-800-304-2219.